Pursuing a creative dream is hard

I want to be a writer. When I think about this statement I know one thing: it is utterly true. It is the dream that I’ve always had since I was young, but never let myself really explore in earnest for its very unstable, risky nature. But then again, it’s these very characteristics that are apart of the allure. It’s not that I want to live a romanticized “struggling artist” lifestyle, but it’s more that I don’t want to live a mundane, repetitious life. I need my days to be different. I crave the unknown.

Yet, again, this unknown, mystical characteristic of the world of writing presents another problem: there is no clear cut path to becoming successful. Yes, you can read a lot and try to hone your craft by exposing yourself to great authors. But this doesn’t necessarily translate to your success. Or does it?

I can’t claim to know the answer here—I’m still a novice here—but I hope it will help me. I’m so grateful for this time to explore this world because with every passing day I find out there’s so much more I have to figure out.

Like, for starters, what kind of writing do I want to do? What will make me happiest? What am I actually best at? At this point, my idea of an idyllic writing career combines a number of different genres. I would love to one day write fiction, but before that I see myself writing blog posts for wellness websites, because I’m absolutely fascinated with this vastly growing industry that combines all sorts of enchanting topics like yoga, self care rituals and nutrition. I also would love to go down the travel writing route as I am infatuated at this point with seeing the world.

But here’s the thing—how does one make the leap to becoming a “creative professional”? How do I make this a career? How can I turn my passion into something lucrative? I’m still navigating these waters. Writing for free (or for such minimal pay it’s essentially free) in order to gain exposure is my MO at the moment. (Do you guys have any other tips for me?)

All I can say is I hope perseverance will get me to where I want to go. And thank goodness I’m able to connect with inspiring artists who have made it, and are helping to guide me into this confusing creative world. I hope this doesn’t come off as negative or rant-y, because the truth is that I wouldn’t trade this journey for any other. I really, really love it. I adore writing and storytelling like nothing else. And I know this work will pay off in the long run. And hey, when I get down I have my amazing family supporting me, plus my fantastic guests featured on this blog to help inspire me. The next interview with multimedia artist Hannah Guthman will serve as a prime example!

“Our job in this life is not to shape ourselves into some ideal we imagine we ought to be, but to find out who we already are and become it.”
Steven Pressfield, The War of Art: Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles

Leave a Reply

